Teddy Bear Coats

by Adam the Editor

I feel a coat theme coming on… Not only have I discussed pea coats today but I’m now thinking of the perfect teddy bear coat too.

Teddy bear coats generally resemble a giant teddy bear in terms of the fabric and its texture. I think they can look amazing on the right person and awful on some but it’s a big trend for AW’12-13 and it’s one that I really want to embrace.

To do it properly you have to be prepared to invest heavily. Teddy bear coats are generally made from shearling or angora with some even pushing the boundaries by coming in rabbit. A vintage version is probably the cheapest option but the smell of vintage shearling is enough to make me run for the bank to obtain an over-inflated loan!

Below is a selection of coats I have found online… I think the Alexander McQueen one is a strong contender although Margiela and Richard James have also produced some pretty nice versions that should definitely be considered.

Alexander McQueen – £3,995 from Mr Porter

Richard James – £1,325 from Mr Porter

Maison Martin Margiela – £3,525 from Selfridges

