Making A Case For The Pea Coat

by Adam the Editor

The pea coat can trace its roots back to the 1720s when American newspapers referenced the jacket in their news coverage. The style has a functional aesthetic whilst also providing a more practical alternative to long and sometimes in-cumbersome overcoats.

I have lusted after a good-quality pea coat ever since the Burberry Prorsum AW’10-11 menswear show that took massive inspiration from military tailoring. The cut of the Prorsum coat was impeccable and the weight of the fabric made it a true winter coat.

I have searched high and low ever since and struggled to find anything that comes close to the look and quality of the Prorsum number.

I think I have finally found something that may well do the trick. The Prorsum coat retailed at around £2,000 whereas this Reiss version is a cool £275. Although the Reiss version doesn’t come with chunky gold buttons, epaulets or cuff detailing the cut of the fabric is flattering and the weight is very suitable for the harsh winters we’ve come accustomed to.

I tried the coat on today in both colours but can’t decide which one I prefer. As some of my regular readers will know, I very rarely buy from the high-street and so I’m not 100% sure if I should fork out £275 or hold out for a Prorsum coat at the Hackney outlet… I’m also half-tempted to try my luck in an army surplus store to see if I can find an authentic pea coat at a fraction of the price.

Alternatively, if someone feels like treating me then feel free to pick me up either colour in a medium! Both coats are available online and in Reiss stores nationwide.

I shall keep you posted about my pea coat search as and when it unfolds!

Images courtesy of Style.com and Reiss

