Louise Gray AW’12 – Womenswear

by Adam the Editor

The Louise Gray AW’12 collection had the usual mash-up of colour, print and texture.

There did, however, seem to be a slightly more serious edge to this collection. A more practical, wearable aesthetic shone through allowing the clothes to step over the divide between pure show pieces and actual commercial garments.

The colour palette was so so summery that it was hard to believe this was AW’12. I do enjoy a splash of colour though and as I’ve said previously; it’s nice to see designers veering away from the usual black, white and grey for Autumn/Winter.

I particularly liked the embellished trouser suits/playsuits that came in a range of easy colours. I also loved the shoes; allowing prints to completely envelope the wearer!

Overall, a great collection once again and one that I could see on a fair few fashion editors. I think there is a real commerciality with this collection which is no bad thing but at the same time there is also a strong editorial appeal.

