The Shape Of Things To Come: New Sculpture @ The Saatchi Gallery

by Adam the Editor

It was my day off of work today so I decided to do some culture. I popped along to the Saatchi Gallery on King’s Road to check out their latest exhibition; The Shape of Things to Come: New Sculpture.

I haven’t really been to a proper sculpture exhibition and some of the pieces at the Saatchi Gallery left me a little bewildered. There were however some truly amazing works that I thoroughly loved. I decided to showcase some of my favourite pieces in this post.

If you haven’t done so already I’d thoroughly recommend a visit. Exhibitions here are free and it’s a great chance to see the work of some interesting new artists. This particular show runs until the 16th October 2011.

Kris Martin

Large-scale rock installation with tiny paper crosses mounted on the top of each stone. Made me feel like I was hundreds of feet below a massive mountain range looking up at religious shrines.

Dirk Skreber

Incredibly moving and destructive; Dirk Skreber has created a piece that provokes and intrigues.

Folkert De Jong

Creepy and eery… I loved the colour-blasted logs though.

David Thorpe

An indoor oasis. I loved the peep-box and tiled wall. The pattern is so consistent it begins to confuse and disorientate.

Björn Dahlem

Something simple but powerful nonetheless. This light installation is entitled ‘The Milky Way’. The amount of light produced by this piece takes you aback when you initially walk into the room. I’ve never really seen many light installations before that are on such a large scale as this piece.

Anselm Reyle

A big neon mess. Love the colours and the haphazard quality to this piece. Both Dahlem and Reyle have inspired me to check out more light installations in the future. There’s something very powerful about a piece of light art; there is an energy and a soul that I don’t think you get with a normal sculpture.

