Dries Van Noten Menswear SS’12

by Adam the Editor

I quite like Dries Van Noten and his simplistic approach to clothing. For SS’12 the designer has played with tailoring, layering and textures. Pairing pieces that, on their own, would not appear to work together yet somehow do. There are some great jackets and coats in this collection as well as shorts, trousers and jumpers.

I think the colour-scheme is also a strong point; with a progression from dark navy through to bright red and cream and then back to a dark blue and rich, satin plum. I love how loose-fitting shorts are paired with oversized shirts and slim-leg trousers. This look has been done before but I love how Dries does it in such a way that it just works from a commercial perspective as well as a stylistic approach.

My favourite piece has to be the oversized trench coat in dark navy. I love how it makes such a statement especially when paired with a fitted pair of dark trousers. The playful use of fabric on jumpers and jackets also appeals; providing a multi-faceted twist to what could otherwise be seen as a simple item of clothing.

Images courtesy of Style.com

