Thierry Mugler Menswear SS’12

by Adam the Editor

Not for the faint-hearted is the best way to sum up the Thierry Mugler SS’12 collection debuted in Paris today by Nicola Formichetti.

Tailoring was structured and fitted with unique design elements including opaque panelling, dip-dye and textual layering. There were a few key pieces that stood out for me including a pair of brothel creeper style shoes that came in a multitude of colours including neon green, black, white and grey.

There was a dip-dyed suit that changed from a mottled grey finish to jet black. A shirt dress that featured lavender and neon green panelling and a pair of opaque, white shorts that were paired with a simple, white blazer jacket.

I also loved some of the longer, fitted jackets that gave a more casual aesthetic to what is quite a high-fashion brand. The encrusted bodies and leggings were also to die for and would look perfect with my espadrille brogues come London Fashion Week in September.

I think this collection is definitely more wearable when compared with the AW’11 one showcased in March. I like how the brand is very directional when compared to others that produce similar garments. I personally would buy into the brand if my cash flow allowed.

I do question however, how a brand like Mugler can survive in the long-term if all it produces is expensive, niche, avant-garde products that are only worn by an extreme minority. Only time will tell…

Images courtesy of Style.com

