To Prada Or Not To Prada?

by Adam the Editor

So there’s been a mixed review for the Prada AW’11 show but I have to say I am quite a fan… I can admit that some of the pieces are quite restrained compared to last season BUT there are also some great, wearable dresses, tops and jackets which will work well for the AW season.

I especially loved the ‘over-sized sequin’ dresses and skirt suits; similar in style to old school Pierre Cardin me thinks!

’60s was a definite influence and this can be seen with chunky button details on short, geometric print dresses.

I also particularly enjoyed the aviator style googles and the bathing cap headgear. Quite a fun playful detail.

The bags were more paired down this season but the way they were held was a nice feature; models clutching them close as they walked gave a sense of urgency as if the models were on their way, possibly to their waiting aircraft or business meeting!

Prada has always shown strong collections and I do think that, even through the criticism, this collection is a perfect example of Miuccia’s design talent.

