James Long AW’11

by Adam the Editor

Dark and grungy is the best way I can describe the AW’11 collection from James Long.

Coats were the strong point of the collection with some thick, heavy yarn featuring in muted, dulled colour. A teddy bear coat also featured and the closing coat, a mismatched fur, was probably my favourite piece.

Knitwear was worn and distressed with varying colours running through each piece.

Overall, the collection was fairly simple, with a soft, unrefined silhouette. The colour palette was typically winter although I did like the choice of shiny leather trousers, providing a modern twist to what would otherwise appear to be quite a classic collection.

I did however find this collection hard to accept. I felt that boundaries weren’t really pushed and a lot of what was shown has already been seen in prior seasons by other designers. This is not to play down the talent of Long but I would have preferred a more directional approach rather than a safe, 100% commercial one.

I think this collection can do well in terms of retail but it’s a shame that the kinda man it’ll appeal to isn’t the kind that I am interested in following.

