Christopher Shannon AW’11

by Adam the Editor

Christopher Shannon took inspiration from photojournalism and photographers including Pieter Hugo and Sirkka-Liisa Konttinen for his AW’11 collection. David Attenborough was also noted as a further influence on the practical, wearable range showcased by Shannon for London Fashion Week.

Bold prints featured more prominently in the collection including on accessories. Fabrics included nylon, cotton and heavily embellished woven blanket material.

A footwear collaboration with Pointer will be launched for AW’11 whilst the on-going tie up with Eastpak will also carry on into next season. I have to admit, there was a particular ruck-sack I LOVED when it came down the catwalk. Part shiny nylon, part knitted blanket. Definitely on my ‘to-buy’ list for the winter.

I particularly loved the nylon trousers with frill detail that featured near the end of the show. These look so cool and I could see myself wearing a pair with some out-there high-tops and a crazy jumper. A lot of the knitwear looked warm whilst maintaining a fashion edge through the use of print. There was also a fringed nylon shirt that also caught my eye. Again, a great statement piece that could work well with other similarly statement items.

Overall, the Christopher Shannon collection was one of my favourite for menswear. The clothes are very wearable but also interesting and different. Shannon has taken basic sportswear and made into a serious fashion offer. I’ll just have to save some pennies between now and when the collection will hit the stores in order to buy one of the bags and a pair of the amazing trousers.

