Ashish AW’11

by Adam the Editor

Ashish took tartan to a whole new level for AW’11. Candy brights paired well with more muted tones whilst sequins dominated at least one item of clothing in nearly every look.

The collection had a punk-ish feel with models wearing brothel creapers and distressed, torn knitwear. The sequinned designs also gave a punky feel with a few Union Jack flag motifs appearing for this season.

My favourite look has to be the classic skirt suit reinterpreted in sequins. Very tailored but with a fun, edgy feel that appeals to a younger, trendier crowd.

I do, however, think that there wasn’t a strong enough emphasis on practical, commercially viable winter wear. I know that some people would argue this isn’t a necessity but I do think the collection had a spring/summer vibe to it which, in the right weather can work well, BUT, we live in the UK and our winters aren’t exactly summery. I suppose one could invest in pieces from the AW’11 collection to wear during the summer months in the following year.

Overall I did like the collection. I thought it was interesting how tartan prints had been constructed and I liked some of the tailoring. The jumpers were also quite fun especially the slogan ones that featured near the end. I also think there are some pieces that work well separately but I’m not sure about wearing a whole sequinned outfit as one look. Possibly sequin overkill!

