Mulberry AW’11

by Adam the Editor

So, I didn’t actually get to see the show due to the sheer volume of press, buyers and celebrities that squeezed into Claridges’ ballroom BUT I did attend as I was working with the PR ladies for Mulberry and so I feel I am justified in producing a mini show report.

The collection took its inspiration from Fantastic Mr. Fox which became apparent when one saw the incredible, woodland environment that had been created by the superb in-house VM team. A Mulberrry shed sat alongside a big, overgrown hedgerow that spelt out the Mulberry name in all its glory.

The clothes were a playful twist on old-fashioned English heritage with a nice mixture of hunting and fishing-style jackets paired with long flowing dresses that came in a variety of fabrics, textures and finishes. My favourite has to be the maxi-dress with woodland print and the opening dress, a knife-pleated, metallic number that was equally maxi. Some of the jackets look super warm and it would appear fur is also returning to the collection.

The bags were also incredible with a gorgeous quilted alexa being debuted alongside a new-style Baywater satchel. If they do the quilted alexa oversized I think I may just possibly buy one!

Overall, a great collection with great press reviews. Well done Mulberry!

Images courtesy of Vogue.com
